Harnessing the Potential of Knowledge Sharing

How to Apply For ETIAS Travel Requirement For Europe

What Is ETIAS?

Travelers in Europe using the ETIAS travel requirement

The European Travel Information and Authorization System (ETIAS) is a new travel requirement for passport holders of 59 countries, including the United States, to enter Europe. Based on its American counterpart ESTA, ETIAS conducts background checks on applicants to identify potential security risks before granting them travel authorization to 30 European countries.

Countries Requiring ETIAS

Starting in January 2024, ETIAS will be required to enter the following countries:

  1. Schengen Area Members:
    • Austria
    • Belgium
    • Croatia
    • Czech Republic
    • Denmark
    • Estonia
    • Finland
    • France
    • Germany
    • Greece
    • Hungary
    • Iceland
    • Italy
    • Latvia
    • Liechtenstein
    • Lithuania
    • Luxembourg
    • Malta
    • Netherlands
    • Norway
    • Poland
    • Portugal
    • Slovakia
    • Slovenia
    • Spain
    • Sweden
    • Switzerland
  2. Non-Schengen Participants:
    • Bulgaria
    • Cyprus
    • Romania

Who Needs to Apply For ETIAS?

Citizens from certain countries currently don’t need a visa to enter an EU country. When ETIAS goes into effect, the following countries will need to obtain ETIAS before traveling to Europe:

  • Albania
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Australia
  • Argentina
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Brazil
  • Brunei
  • Canada
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Costa Rica
  • Dominica
  • El Salvador
  • Georgia
  • Grenada
  • Guatemala
  • Honduras
  • Hong Kong
  • Israel
  • Japan
  • Kiribati
  • Macau
  • Malaysia
  • Marshall Islands
  • Mauritius
  • Mexico
  • Micronesia
  • Moldava
  • Montenegro
  • New Zealand
  • Nicaragua
  • North Macedonia
  • Palau
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Vincent and Grenadines
  • Samoa
  • Serbia
  • Seychelles
  • Singapore
  • Solomon Islands
  • South Korea
  • Taiwan
  • Timor Leste
  • Tonga
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Tuvalu
  • Ukraine
  • Uruguay
  • United Arab Emirate
  • United Kingdom
  • United States
  • Venezuela

If you aren’t sure if you require ETIAS, take the free assessment on the program website.

How to Apply for ETIAS

Applying for ETIAS requires a passport and access to a computer or mobile device with an internet connection. The application process takes approximately 20 minutes, but the duration may vary based on the number of additional fields that need to be filled out. While ETIAS will only launch in 2024, travelers can prepare ahead by understanding the application process.

Boundless Tip: The EU recommends submitting your ETIAS application at least 96 hours before departure.

Required Application Fields

Applicants need to provide the following information as part of their ETIAS application:

  1. Personal Details: Surname (family name), first name(s), surname at birth, usual name(s), date of birth, place of birth, country of birth, sex, current nationality, first names of the parents of the applicant, and home address.
  2. Passport Information: Details of the passport or travel document, including passport number, issue date, and expiration date.
  3. Nationalities or Citizenships: If applicable, information on any other nationalities or citizenships held by the applicant.
  4. Permanent Residence: Address of permanent residence.
  5. Contact Details: Email address and telephone number.
  6. Intended First Entry: Member State of intended first entry into Europe.
  7. Education and Occupation: Information about your education background and current occupation.
  8. Background and Eligibility Questions: Questions related to medical conditions, criminal history, drug distribution, travel to war-zone countries, previous immigration or travel issues, etc.
  9. Minors and Representatives: If the applicant is a minor, the identity of the responsible person; if the application is submitted by someone other than the applicant, their identity and representing company (if applicable).
  10. Family Members: Details of family members to EU citizens/third country nationals benefiting from free movement.

Required Documents

When applying for ETIAS, ensure your passport is:

  1. Current and Valid: The passport must be valid at the time of your arrival in Europe.
  2. Machine-Readable: The passport should contain a machine-readable section on the biographic details page.
  3. Electronic: While not universally required, your passport may need to be an electronic passport bearing the electronic passport sign or chip.

How Much Does ETIAS Cost?

The ETIAS application fee is 7 EUROS for applicants aged between 18 to 70 years. However, travelers under 18 or over 70 years old are exempt from paying the fee. Debit and credit card payments are accepted for the application fee.

Upon payment, the application will be processed, and most applicants will receive a decision within minutes.

trvlldrs Company Inc

Address: Apt. 558 5356 Beahan Meadows, Port Jeffry, LA 46077-9923

Phone: +423 (583) 204-6612 x91296

Website: https://trvlldrs.com

Facebook: https://facebook.com/trvlldrscom

Twitter: @trvlldrscom

Copyright © 2023 | Design by Trvlldrs